Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 08:19:51 am

Author Topic: "Skiing into Oblivion"-Language Analysis  (Read 3352 times)  Share 

simon_93

• Victorian
  • Trailblazer
  • Respect: -1
  • School Grad Year: 2011
"Skiing into Oblivion"-Language Analysis
« on: August 10, 2011, 04:22:37 pm »
Hey there everyone :)

This is my first attempt at writing a language analysis under timed conditions ( 50 minutes) this year. I was hoping I could receive some feedback, relating to anything I have written or simply some suggestions on how to improve. Any help would be greatly appreciated :)
The link to the article is:

http://ggsbbint.ggs.vic.edu.au/english/Miscellaneous%20Pages/Exam%20Papers/VATE%20exam%202008.pdf

I couldn't manage to find an actual online version of the article, so you'll have to scroll down to Section 3 of the above practice exam. Apologies for the inconvenience.

Skiing into Oblivion-Language Analysis

Over the past few years, the issue of whether our lifestyles are environmentally and economically unsustainable has been the subject of ongoing debate.

Written by Paul Evans and published in a weekly metropolitan news magazine (as well as on its website), “Skiing into Oblivion” is an opinionative piece which reflects on the ways in which the earth’s resources are being used in a profligate way to maintain unsustainable lifestyles. Contending in a predominantly concerned and rational tone, Evans argues that we are “consuming the planet’s resources…as if there were no tomorrow”, but that “it is still possible to change direction and take a conservationist route”. This piece is targeted towards the general public, particularly towards readers of an adult generation who live in urban areas, or those who are passionate about environmental sustainability.