Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 02:44:41 pm

Author Topic: How do you successfully study for English Language?  (Read 856 times)  Share 

2penguin4u

• Victorian
  • Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
  • School: decv
How do you successfully study for English Language?
« on: March 30, 2014, 10:03:31 am »
Englang noob here. I feel as if I am on the right track by being able to link ideas across the subsystems but phwoar  x____x there is a lot stuff to know. How did you manage it and are there any good study guides for this subject?

more_vanilla

• Victorian
  • Trendsetter
  • Respect: 0
  • School Grad Year: 2015
Re: How do you successfully study for English Language?
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2014, 09:57:50 pm »
I'd like to second this question!

I have my first outcome in four days and listening to my teacher go through the past outcomes and what is expected of us I feel like I've been absent for half the term >:|
I seriously have knowledge gaps everywhere! (And it's not for lack of revision/attendance)

Ugh
2014: Psychology, Accounting
2015: Methods, Further, EngLang, HHD, UMEP Accounting

aqple

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Respect: +14
  • School Grad Year: 2014
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2014, 10:19:11 pm »
Englang is challenging. I recommend doing some analyses (Section 2 of exam) of different texts, this way you can apply your knowledge of the metalanguage and link ideas across the subsystems together. If you can't be bothered writing up an analysis, you can just annotate and take note of what you would write in one. Our teacher has forced us to do this for variety of texts she gives us (blog, radio broadcast, letter, article, advertisement) and it has personally helped me tremendously! 
« Last Edit: March 30, 2014, 10:21:09 pm by aqple »
VCE 2014 - English Language | English | Studio Arts | Psychology | Legal Studies

Currently studying B-Arts @ UoM

~Tutoring English Language [47] in 2015~