Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 09:12:14 pm

Author Topic: VCE Requirements  (Read 2161 times)  Share 

Geoff

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
VCE Requirements
« on: May 26, 2017, 12:01:31 am »
Hi all,

Im new here and I'm in Year 10. I am planning to do Japanese SL next year, however I have had no prior experience in learning Japanese. I am very confused and I am wondering if i can still take the subject next year and how I can go about doing it as my school does not have Japanese as a subject. Any advice helps!

Thanks!

Aaron

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +1536
Re: VCE Requirements
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2017, 12:09:02 am »
+1
Geoff,

Welcome to ATAR Notes! A few points to assist with your question:

1. You can do Japanese SL 1/2, as there are no pre requisites for entry at this level.

2. This thread might assist some more: https://atarnotes.com/forum/index.php?topic=162848.0

3. The following quote is from the Japanese SL study design, which may be of interest to you:
There are no prerequisites for entry into Units 1, 2 and 3. Students must undertake Unit 3 prior to
undertaking  Unit  4.  Japanese  Second  Language  is  designed  for  students  who  will,  typically,  have
studied  the  language  for  at  least  200  hours  prior  to  the  commencement  of  Unit  1.  It  is  possible,
however, that some students with less formal experience will also be able to meet the requirements
successfully

In terms of personal experiences, I can't really comment about that given I have not done this subject.

Good luck.
« Last Edit: May 26, 2017, 12:15:56 am by Aaron »
Experience in teaching at both secondary and tertiary levels.

website // new forum profile

AngelWings

• Victorian Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • "Angel wings, please guide me..."
  • Respect: +1425
Re: VCE Requirements
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2017, 10:41:44 pm »
+2
Hey there, Geoff!