Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 04:24:53 pm

Author Topic: Difference between Lit. essays and English essays  (Read 1318 times)  Share 

Mkiryo

• Adventurer
  • tryna find my way around here!
  • Respect: +4
Difference between Lit. essays and English essays
« on: April 17, 2019, 08:53:01 pm »
+1
Hi there, I'm currently undetaking Literature 1/2 as well as English and I'm very new to the style of essay writing in Literature so I was wondering if anyone could help me pinpoint the differences between the two. Your help is very much appreciated.
VCE: 2018-2020
ATAR: 99.4
(finally get to do this!)

colline

• MOTM: NOV 19
  • Forum Obsessive
  • ♡ 2 Timothy 1:7 ♡
  • Respect: +512
Re: Difference between Lit. essays and English essays
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2019, 09:25:07 pm »
+11
Hey Mkiryo!

I've only done unit 2 of English so pls take my advice with a grain of salt! From my understanding, some of the major differences are:

1. Literature is less restrictive in terms of essay structure and style. For Close Passage Analysis, you're allowed to write in whatever format you wish - it could be the classic "English essay" of intro, 3 x body paragraphs, conclusion; OR you could write in a completely different style! Introductions and conclusions aren't necessary, and there's no rule that you have to start with a 'contention' and then follow the 'TEEL' structure to back up your arguments. For my CPAs, I always jumped right into analysis instead of wasting time on introductions and conclusions.