Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 04:25:20 pm

Author Topic: Literature, Reflective commentary  (Read 2307 times)  Share 

Jazzy Strange

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Literature, Reflective commentary
« on: July 24, 2019, 09:36:21 am »
Hey guys,
I’m new to ATAR notes and I was wondering if anyone knew how to write a reflective commentary for a creative task in Literature, the minimum word limit is 700 words and I have no idea how to start let alone write that many words.

literally lauren

• Administrator
  • Part of the furniture
  • Resident English/Lit Nerd
  • Respect: +1423
Re: Literature, Reflective commentary
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2019, 03:15:40 pm »
+6
Hey guys,
I’m new to ATAR notes and I was wondering if anyone knew how to write a reflective commentary for a creative task in Literature, the minimum word limit is 700 words and I have no idea how to start let alone write that many words.
Hi Jazzy!

Have you started writing your creative piece yet? We might be able to give you some more specific advice for your commentary if you already know what your piece is going to be about (which text, which genre, etc) ;D

In general, the point of the reflective commentary is to show how much thought you've put into your creative! The aim is to go into heaps of detail about the authorial choices you've made (if you do VCE Lit, you're an author now, congrats! Now you have to think like one ;) ) Basically, your teacher doesn't want to just give the highest mark to the best imaginative writer in the class, so instead the task also involves a written explanation where you tell them what meaning your creative piece was intending to communicate, and what language features you used to do so. Marking schemes vary from school to school, but often, the explanation can actually be "worth more" than your creative itself, because...