Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 11:29:54 am

Author Topic: Should I study English, EngLang AND Lit in year 12??  (Read 4244 times)  Share 

emilyclare

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Should I study English, EngLang AND Lit in year 12??
« on: November 08, 2019, 05:50:01 pm »
Hello!

I am currently a year 11 student and will be the graduating class of 2020. I am a strong English student and I love analysing plays/films/books and it comes pretty naturally to me (even in my spare time). I am aiming to study Speech Pathology at uni after school.

This year, I completed 1/2 Legal Studies, Further, Health, French and English, as well as 3/4 Psychology.

Next year, my timetable is currently Legal Studies, Further, Health, English and Literature (there was not an available class for French for me).

My question is: would it be crazy to drop Legal and pick up English Language?

I do not enjoy Legal as much as I would have hoped - I find it very, very dry and even though I learn well by rote, I find it hard to apply elaborative learning to the subject. My scores for 1/2 have been relatively good (averaging around 80%), but after looking at the content and talking to my friend who is currently studying 3/4 Legal, I can't see myself enjoying/being very good at it.

My current year 12 friends are telling me that studying 3 english's be an insane workload, but I guess my logic behind it is this:
1. English = I'm good at it, it comes pretty easy to me and I have done it since year 7.
2. Literature = This would be my 'passion' subject. I love analysing books and plays, and even though I have not completed 1/2 and I understand that the formatting is different (ie. writing literary perspectives), I am willing to work hard to overcome it.