Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 02:42:15 pm

Author Topic: [English] Language analysis - 2016 exam Lawton newspaper  (Read 1306 times)  Share 

blueycan

• MOTM: AUG 19
  • Forum Obsessive
  • she/her
  • Respect: +244
[English] Language analysis - 2016 exam Lawton newspaper
« on: May 17, 2020, 09:17:36 pm »
Hi guys, I just wrote a pretty basic practice essay for my year 11 English class. I had to write an LA essay using a letter and a cartoon, comparing the two in one of the paragraphs. This is my first time attempting this so I was hoping to receive some feedback on it from people other than my teacher. Thanks!

Spoiler
The weekly column in a local Lawton newspaper published a letter by Mayor Alexandra Wiley which contains her proposal of a town landmark to attract tourist attention after being diverted off of the main road. Shifting from an enthusiastic to urgent tone, Wiley addresses the benefits of her proposition and mentions that she wishes to showcase her town's local culture. Throughout her letter, Wiley addresses her fellow Lawton residents using simple and informal language. Her letter aims to convince residents of the benefits an outstanding structure would provide for the town, and the opportunities it would bring.