Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 05:13:16 pm

Author Topic: Should i drop maths methods?  (Read 2364 times)  Share 

yoheity

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Should i drop maths methods?
« on: June 09, 2020, 07:44:27 pm »
I am currently studying methods 3/4 in year 12 and its really eating into my study time for my other 3/4 subjects. i don't require it for the bachelor of arts course i want to get into, and don't plan on doing anything like economics. My parents are telling that i shouldn't because it will keep my options open, but i feel as if i can do much better on my other subjects if i drop methods.
I don't see continuing the subject as worth it, but not sure what to say to parents.
I would appreciate some thoughts on this?
« Last Edit: June 09, 2020, 07:54:06 pm by yoheity »

keltingmeith

• Honorary Moderator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • he/him - they is also fine
  • Respect: +1292
Re: Should i drop maths methods?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2020, 08:49:40 pm »
+5
You could always soft-drop it.

Like, if you have the freedom to drop it, then clearly you have enough subjects for your ATAR anyway. If you keep doing the subject, the only compulsory time you HAVE to devote to it is in class, when you have SACs if your school does the SACs separately to in-class, and the exams. Otherwise, the time is yours to do what you will. Keep going to class, just don't put any effort in. At the end of the day, it can still score you a couple of extra aggregate points (particularly if you go to a good school), even if you do literally 0 study outside of class. That way you also keep your parents happy, too - you're still DOING the subject, after all

eloisegrace

• MOTM: April 20
  • Forum Obsessive
  • she/her ~ class of 2021
  • Respect: +264
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2020, 09:25:07 pm »
+1