Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 11:53:05 pm

Author Topic: annoting text  (Read 3743 times)  Share 

cappa1

• Victorian
  • Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
annoting text
« on: March 12, 2008, 05:06:54 pm »
Hi,

I am new to english language and am having a bit of trouble annoting a pice of text for my first sac. This text is based on teenspeak. i Have to talk about what the context, function, mode and audience. what its register is. The phonetic and prosodic features that are apparent and Distictive features of the sample. Would anyone be abelt o help me out. The text is:

Sue rang me last night.
Hi Deb. What happened?
He cracked a mental.
What for?
He found the note.
Deadset? Are ya on detention? Is he gonna tell ya olds?
Yeah, so he reckons
No bull? What a weak act.
Oh the old perv. Bishop can stick it.
Anyway, has Bruce rang ya yet?
Nah. he rings me at eight.
Deadset? Every Wednesday? Jeez he's roolly stoked in ya Deb. Treats ya rooly good and stuff.
Yeah reckon. how bout Danny? Does he......Tch! Oh hang on, it's me old lady.......Wot mum?....Sue!.....Yeah! i gotta ask her a science question don't I?....Righto..
Being a girl, i never rang Bruce. I just spent all Wednesday night by the phone. that gave me time to write out the junk i was going to say to him:
1. Didja hear about Freda Cummins?
2. How was the surf?
3. Did you watch number 96?
4. Got called down to the headmaster's today.
5.What are we doin' Friday night??

Thankyou

Edit to fix the spelling in the text itself that I can remember off the top of my head :P
« Last Edit: March 12, 2008, 07:16:12 pm by caramel »
English Language 44
Further Maths 47

cara.mel

Re: annoting text
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2008, 07:14:33 pm »
Hey, I've read that before :P It's from a book that was from either the 70s or early 80s => some of what they say is out of date, despite it being from Australia. Oh and number 96 = some tv show.

Is that the actual sac, or is it a practise one?