Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 20, 2024, 10:59:19 pm

Author Topic: Language assistants  (Read 5814 times)  Share 

ech_93

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Respect: +6
Language assistants
« on: February 19, 2011, 08:59:00 pm »
At my school this year we have a person from Germany who is helping in German classes two days a week. I find it so helpful to have a native speaker in the class.
So, I was just wondering if language assistants are common!? I think this is the first year we have had someone like this, so i was just curious. Does anyone else here have someone similar helping out at their school?
ATAR aim: 90+
2012- ???

werdna

• Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Respect: +287
Re: Language assistants
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2011, 09:03:50 pm »
Wow, that's a really good idea! I'm studying Latin so I'm not sure how it'd work.

But what does the German assistant do? Surely your teacher is able to speak the language....?

ech_93

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2011, 09:07:45 pm »
Yeah, i reckon its awesome!

Haha, yeah, my teacher can speak the language. She just helps with pronunciation and stuff. She comes around and checks our work. Lately we have been doing a bit of preparation for our end-of-year oral, so she has been asking us questions in german.
The teacher is capable of doing the same i guess, but its great to have a native German helping. I think it will help a lot.

EDIT - by she, i mean the assistant
2012- ???

Ghost!

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Year 12, What up.
  • Respect: +42
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2011, 09:16:26 pm »

Haha, yeah, my teacher can speak the language. She just helps with pronunciation and stuff. She comes around and checks our work. Lately we have been doing a bit of preparation for our end-of-year oral, so she has been asking us questions in german.