Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 28, 2024, 09:27:52 pm

Author Topic: VCE Summer School applications open  (Read 3650 times)  Share 

Russ

• Honorary Moderator
  • Great Wonder of ATAR Notes
  • Respect: +661
VCE Summer School applications open
« on: October 19, 2012, 08:59:18 am »
+7
Run every summer at the University of Melbourne campus, this is a program dedicated to providing educational services to disadvantaged/underrepresented students. It lasts for two weeks (with the option of living on campus) and offers academic classes on your subjects as well as social support/events and general advice for VCE.

All the tutors have completed at least a year of tertiary studies, many have completed more and some have graduated completely, so you'll be getting a decent quality of education from people who've recently gone through the VCE system. I've been teaching there for a few years now and I'm pretty sure a bunch of other AN tutors/people are getting on board this year.

Applications are open if you're interested or if you're looking to get a head start on the year. We cover year 11 and year 12 subjects, as well as covering those that generally aren't done in depth by other courses (Renaissance History, minor LOTEs etc.). If finanical circumstances could prevent you from attending, contact the directors and they'll see what they can do with respect to bursaries (there's an application form iirc). And finally, whilst we give preference to those from disadvantaged backgrounds, all applications are welcome for the places that aren't filled by such students.

It's a great two weeks and you'll have a great time as well as learn a few things. I'm sure some previous VCESS students will chime in and say they loved it, since we do fun stuff

Case in point:

‘It is insecurity, not confidence, that is the driving factor in Call Me Maybe.’