Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 06:49:33 am

Author Topic: Learning a Language in the VCE or HSC!  (Read 573 times)  Share 

EEEEEEP

• New South Welsh
  • Forum Leader
  • Resource Writer
  • Respect: +543
Learning a Language in the VCE or HSC!
« on: January 10, 2018, 07:19:53 pm »
+11
Just an introduction
Hi! I’m E6P and I studied a language in Year 11.

The language that I did was Chinese Heritage. Every Saturday, I would go to Strathfield Girls High School early in the morning to go to a few hours of classes. It was a great experience and I found it very fun and enjoyable, compared to a science or higher-level maths.  I actually loved every minute of it.
Unfortunately, I dropped it as I did pretty badly at it and it took too much focus away from the other subjects.

Why do a language?
-   Exposes you to a few other cultures and experiences
When you learn a new language, you learn new things about other cultures. These things may be cultural values, food items, music styles and dressing styles! It gives you a new perspective on things.

-   Can be a great asset to you in the future (if you do decide to continue to keep it up)
If you get fluent enough in it, you can possibly move overseas and work/study overseas. Additionally, it might come up in certain circumstances (for example… if a tourist asks for destinations) or if your company deals with a diverse group of clients.

You can put It on your CV if you are actually good enough at it!

-   Can be extremely interesting (it is a lot different to learning to learning Engineering or Physics)
When you learn a new language, you meet a diverse amount of people and through this, experience interesting things.

What do you learn?
Reading, writing and speaking.

You learn the vocabulary involved that’s in a language’s dictionary, the grammatical and sentence structures and how to pronounce things properly.