Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 05:25:15 am

Author Topic: Feeling despondent about my English grades, would like some advice/perspective?  (Read 2084 times)  Share 

CatherineRomanov

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Essentially, the title. English is a subject that I’ve enjoyed and done well in all my life, until Unit 3/4. As a Lit 1/2 student, I was told to do pick it up without doing the 1/2, as it would be “easy for me.” Naively, I believed that it would be, and then I received a complete shock when I was handed back my SAC grades - 66% for my first one, 57.5% for the second. I did “above average” for both, as my school is quite harsh with its marking, but receiving the lowest grades I’ve ever had in English for my Unit 3 I really stunned me.

After receiving my results, I went to my teacher and received detailed feedback for both SACs that I took notes on and plan to implement. So I now know what to improve on, and this certainly isn’t a doom post, but I just feel so angry and frustrated with myself for making mistakes that I quite literally detailed in my (language analysis SAC) plan to avoid, and then proceeded to make in the actual essay itself - the pressure of writing under time made my mind a bit loopy and I forgot to be specific about audience, even though I wrote 6 different types of audiences in my plan and said I would analyse the “multifaceted audience” in my topic sentence…my teacher said it was clear I knew what needed to be done but just struggled with the timed conditions, but gahhh I want to go back in time and slap myself for such a silly mistake  :(