Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 08:07:03 pm

Author Topic: Finance Vs Macroeconomics?  (Read 1445 times)  Share 

DrowNz

• Victorian
  • Trendsetter
  • Respect: +6
Finance Vs Macroeconomics?
« on: February 25, 2008, 07:02:36 pm »
G'day guys.

I have no background in any of the busienss subjects whatsoever but I believe that I'm starting to develop a passion for Economics from the little I read here and there. I am interested in pursuing a major in economics eventually but was advised to pick up 'Fundamentals of Finance' by the counseling given to me by the faculity as a starting point for my commerce degree. I was wondering if that was true and whether I should listen to this advise or would picking up introduction to macroeconomics be a better idea?

Thanks in advance!
Tuition in Biology, ESL & Hebrew Available.

Contact me at [email protected]

Collin Li

• VCE Tutor
  • Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +17
Re: Finance Vs Macroeconomics?
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2008, 10:52:58 pm »
What course are you doing? If you are doing a commerce degree, then Introductory Macroeconomics is probably compulsory. Finance will not give you the groundwork required for economics - only introductory microeconomics and macroeconomics can do that. The finance subject will give you a good groundwork required for finance though. If you want to practice finance as a profession, the finance subject is probably a better choice, but if you want to gain an economic insight as to how financial markets work, economics is the route you should take.

DrowNz

• Victorian
  • Trendsetter
  • Respect: +6
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2008, 01:45:53 am »
I am currently studying Science/Commerce. You are completely right, sorry for the confusion.
In this case let me rephrase my question:

What order of core subjects would you recommend I follow? That is, What order would make more sense, logically, for a novice in the field such as myself?