Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 19, 2024, 04:40:31 pm

Author Topic: How graduates in commerce can contribute - Prof Jeff Borland  (Read 1502 times)  Share 

brendan

How graduates in commerce can contribute - Prof Jeff Borland
« on: March 06, 2008, 11:14:29 pm »
The importance of commerce and commercial principles in determining the well-being of society

How graduates in commerce can contribute
An edited excerpt from his Occasional Address delivered at the graduation on 19 December 2006.
by Professor Jeff Borland is Professor of Economics in the Department of Economics of the University of Melbourne

http://insights.unimelb.edu.au/vol2/7_Borland.html

For those of you who graduate with a Bachelor of Commerce, I feel I am something of a bookend.  I was a lecturer in your first semester at the University of Melbourne, and now you are hearing from me again at the very end of your studies. You will be pleased to know that I am not going to engage in a final revision of demand and supply or game theory. Instead, I propose to look in the opposite direction – forward, to where you are heading next.