Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 10:22:44 am

Author Topic: Michael Gow's 'Away' Question/Discussion Thread  (Read 15762 times)

ssarahj

• ATAR Notes NSW MVP - 2016
  • Forum Obsessive
  • seek the full depth and height of life.
  • Respect: +18
Michael Gow's 'Away' Question/Discussion Thread
« on: September 16, 2016, 10:56:24 am »
This is the place to ask all your burning questions about Michael Gow's play Away. Many of the 2017 HSC classes, both Standard and Advanced, will be starting to read and study this prescribed text for AOS Discovery in the coming weeks, so feel free to come here to bounce ideas around, discuss quotes, analysis and get advice on connecting related texts.

I studied Away for Discovery and saw a stage production of it this year and absolutely loved it, so I'm keen to help out where I can  :)
HSC 2016: SOR 2, Adv. English, Ext. 1 English, Chemistry, 2U Maths, Hospitality
6th in NSW for SOR 2

ATAR: 97.00

2017: B Nutrition & Dietetics @ University of Newcastle

conic curve

• Forum Leader
  • Respect: +2
Re: Michael Gow's 'Away' Question/Discussion Thread
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2016, 11:25:13 am »
This is the place to ask all your burning questions about Michael Gow's play Away. Many of the 2017 HSC classes, both Standard and Advanced, will be starting to read and study this prescribed text for AOS Discovery in the coming weeks, so feel free to come here to bounce ideas around, discuss quotes, analysis and get advice on connecting related texts.

I studied Away for Discovery and saw a stage production of it this year and absolutely loved it, so I'm keen to help out where I can  :)

I'll start off (even though I haven't read the book yet)

What are some of the aspects of discovery explored in the play?

What are some good related texts (e.g. Is Joseph Conrad's heart of Darkness a suitable related text, or is a text like looking for Alibrandi)?

ssarahj

• Forum Obsessive