Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

March 29, 2024, 12:30:33 am

Author Topic: Help with uni choices for Science/IT degree? Macquarie, UTS or USYD?  (Read 5354 times)

PolishAussie

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Hi all,

Currently in Year 12 and thinking about my options for undergrad study for next year. I’d love to do some sort of double degree on IT/Computer Science and Science as I really enjoy both these field of study and thing they’ll be relatively relevant in the future. If anything, I’d also like a course that allows me to have plenty of opportunities for overseas exchange (I studied Japanese for most of high school and speak Polish as a second language and would love to go to places in Japan, etc.)

At the moment I’m debating on whether I should go to Macquarie, UTS or USYD to study this. For Macquarie, I would probably go for the B. Science/B. Information Technology. Being from the Hills District, Macquarie is the closest university to me and the most convenient to travel to (being approx. 20 minutes on the metro). The campus is quite nice overall, and I’ve been told by my school that I should easily be able to get in through the Leaders and Achiever’s program (even before doing the HSC exams), which is great. Perhaps a slight downside is that my school is very connected to Macquarie, and about over half of our cohort general goes there to study - I kind of want to start afresh going to uni.

UTS I know has a really good upcoming reputation in Engineering/IT, and have lots of adjustment factors that make it easier to get in a course. Its location in the city centre is also quite prime. However, it doesn’t have the exact sort of double degree I want to study (I would have to do an Engineering one with a major such as Software/Electronics), and the way the campus is spaced out seems somewhat... haphazard? IDK, it might be just me being nit picky.