Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 28, 2024, 09:18:02 am

Author Topic: Student finances  (Read 891 times)  Share 

TheAspiringDoc

Student finances
« on: December 09, 2018, 07:38:57 pm »
Hey I already posted this on a different website but I realised this would probably be the best place to ask  :D

Next year I'm hoping to do undergrad med (UTAS, UNSW, Newcastle, Monash, Adelaide, WSU etc)
I'm also hoping to work in aged care this summer

For both of these I think I'll need a first aid certificate - is it likely any of these unis or workplaces would cover the cost of the 1st aid course?

Also, I'll be moving out of home from a rural area (with little/no financial support from parents), so should I be applying for Centrelink/youth allowance/rural student allowance etc?

Nobody's really given me any information financially so I'm also a bit confused about TFN's (I've never worked before) and stuff like that

Any help would be greatly appreciated!! :)

Quantum44

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +313
Re: Student finances
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2018, 09:39:46 pm »
+5
I believe some undergrad med schools require a first aid certificate and should be able to cover the cost, particularly if you are from a rural background.

Since you’re moving out of home, you should be entitled to the living away from home allowance from Centrelink.

You’ll definitely need to sort out a TFN before you enroll in your uni course as you cannot receive HECS help without one. You can look on the ATO website for options on how to apply for one.
UAdel MBBS

AngelWings

• ATAR Notes Superstar
  • "Angel wings, please guide me..."
  • Respect: +1425
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2018, 09:49:37 pm »
+6
Also, I'll be moving out of home from a rural area (with little/no financial support from parents), so should I be applying for Centrelink/youth allowance/rural student allowance etc?