Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 05, 2024, 11:56:19 am

Author Topic: DFAT  (Read 1518 times)  Share 

appianway

DFAT
« on: October 12, 2011, 11:49:48 pm »
This has probably been asked before, but considering that I'm falling more and more in love with international economics, I was wondering if anyone who is familiar with the process could shed some light. I'm only a freshman, but I'm strongly considering their policy graduate program (I'm very strongly leaning towards an economic major). What sort of extra curriculars do you need to apply? I'm involved in some international relations stuff (organizing a UN trip, probably organizing some speakers...) at college, but I get the impression that a super competitive application process. I doubt I'd ever get in, but does anyone have much knowledge about it all?

Eriny

• The lamp of enlightenment
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Respect: +100
Re: DFAT
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2011, 11:35:18 am »
I know lots of people who WANT to work at DFAT. If you do want to apply, keep in mind that the applications to DFAT graduate programmes close earlier than most of the public service (apart from maybe AusAID, which is also very popular), you'd be needing to get an application together in March or maybe early April in order to start in January or February in the following year. There are two streams: Policy, and Corporate. I'm not really sure of the difference, but I imagine an interest in economics could be applicable to either.