Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 26, 2024, 04:47:03 pm

Author Topic: Inflation  (Read 2556 times)  Share 

maxleng

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Respect: 0
Inflation
« on: November 03, 2007, 02:10:56 pm »
i get abit confused on this sometimes..

so this is the gen form we use; A= P( 1+ r/100)^t

does inflation always mean that the original price of the object will rise? (lol im a business noob) im guessing it does.. So when we find the future price we solve for A?

when it asks for the purchasing power in t amount of years do we solve for P?

i had a quick flick through checkpoints and couldnt find any qs on purchasing power  :? im sure ther's been some, if any one finds one could you please post up the question with answer.. thanks!!

Odette

Re: Inflation
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2007, 03:09:28 pm »
Quote from: "maxleng"
i get abit confused on this sometimes..

so this is the gen form we use; A= P( 1+ r/100)^t

does inflation always mean that the original price of the object will rise? (lol im a business noob) im guessing it does.. So when we find the future price we solve for A?

when it asks for the purchasing power in t amount of years do we solve for P?

i had a quick flick through checkpoints and couldnt find any qs on purchasing power  :? im sure ther's been some, if any one finds one could you please post up the question with answer.. thanks!!

Future price is A, as for buying power that's not P, it's A= PR^n (R=1-r/100)

Here's an example ...
Chen has estimated that he will have $10000000 in his retirement fund in 20 years time. If inflation averages 3%p.a. over this time what will be the buying power, in today's dollars of this $1000000?

P=10000000,R= 1- 3/100, n=20
Buying power, A=1000000 x 0.97 ^20= 543794.34
$1000000 in 20 years time will have buying power of $543794.34 in today's dollars

maxleng

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
Inflation
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2007, 08:56:08 pm »
hmmmm