Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 29, 2024, 02:16:33 am

Author Topic: Deductive vs. Inductive Arguments  (Read 4696 times)  Share 

darklight

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Respect: +2
  • School Grad Year: 2014
Deductive vs. Inductive Arguments
« on: August 02, 2014, 09:43:20 pm »
Hi guys,
I am not studying Philosophy this year but I just wanted to ask a question regarding deductive and inductive arguments (not sure if this board is the right place to put it, feel free to move it). I'm quite new to this, so bear with me :)

With deductive arguments, they can be 'invalid' or 'valid' which leads to 'unsound' and 'sound'. Just to clarify, valid arguments are those in which the conclusion has to be true if the premises are true, and sound is when the premises are true as well?

In terms of 'inductive' arguments, I've seen a podcast that separates them into 'strong' or 'weak' and then 'cogent'/'uncogent' underneath strong. My question is, can the term 'strong' ever be applied to deductive arguments?  Or is the definition of strong such that it can only be related to inductive arguments?

Thanks!  :D
2015: Monash MBBS

achre

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +72
Re: Deductive vs. Inductive Arguments
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2014, 10:10:51 pm »
+2
Hey, this is absolutely the right board for this question :)

A deductive argument (also called a syllogism) is an argument that employs deductive reasoning, which is reasoning that takes two or more premises to form a conclusion. The two words we usually use to describe a deductive argument are "sound" and "valid", which aren't properties that necessarily follow from one another. (It wouldn't be right to say that 'valid' or 'invalid' follows from 'sound' or 'unsound') If an argument is sound, it means its premises are true. If an argument is valid, it means that the conclusion follows from the premises. So yup, you got that right.