Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 29, 2024, 12:53:11 pm

Author Topic: Philosophy! Help!  (Read 1960 times)  Share 

Sah123

Philosophy! Help!
« on: March 12, 2011, 11:46:48 pm »
I am currently studying philosophy and I am quite intimidated by the complexity of the readings and the in depth analysis required to gauge philosophical arguments. My first assessment is approaching and I was hoping someone with experience could give me some tips! I have to write a mini essay (300 words) and explain the philosopher's argument, for example, G.E Moore's Proof of the External world.

It has to be a "concise, accurate, analytic summary of philosophical arguments; explaining the philosophical significance of arguments."

Where do I even begin? If anyone has a great example of a high level essay I would really appreciate it!

Eriny

• The lamp of enlightenment
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Respect: +100
Re: Philosophy! Help!
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 12:03:52 pm »
You should be able to do that. Are you doing yours on GE Moore or someone else?

In any case, you only need to work on one book or article. You pick out the main points (if it's very dense you could use an encyclopaedia of philosophy), you summarise them. The trickiest bit is describing the significance of the argument, but you could basically talk about how it is a departure from earlier arguments or how it helped give a mode of thinking to help get over a previous problem (so for instance, the significance of GE Moore was that he at least gave a view that would attempt to get over Descartes' problem of not being able to know anything external from one's own mind, although I don't think it was very successful, but that's not really the point of the exercise).

Sah123

« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2011, 08:50:02 pm »
I have a variety of different texts I can choose from to write my mini essay, but I am starting with G.E Moore's Proof of the External World as a practice.