Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 26, 2024, 06:03:33 pm

Author Topic: Which Language to do  (Read 3640 times)  Share 

yiduocui

• Victorian
  • Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Which Language to do
« on: February 04, 2014, 06:03:32 pm »
Hey guys!
Currently I have to make the decision of which LOTE I want to do for yr12.
I am currently studying Japanese and Chinese and I'm not sure which one to choose.
My Japanese teacher is exceptionally good and I learn alot each lesson with him. He has a long track record of students who end up achieving top scores in the exams, however I have no native background in it and do not speak it at home.
I study Chinese SLA at Saturday School, however I dont feel that I learn very much in the lessons and compared to most people in SLA, I am very average. That said, I DO have a Chinese background and speak basic Chinese at home.
Then there's also the changes studying Chinese for VCE which I heard scales down the students who have a background in Chinese which would put me at an disadvantage.
While I understand that ultimately, the decision is up to me, I would highly appreciate any help or insights you guys can give

90+FTW

Re: Which Language to do
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2014, 06:05:24 pm »
Japanese all the way (mainly for the anime)

catnus

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2014, 06:08:42 pm »
+1
Which one do you enjoy most? Ultimately, you should choose the subject which you see as being more personally rewarding. If you enjoy Japanese, you are more likely to try to do well in it. How are your marks for both subjects?

kawfee

• Victorian
  • Trendsetter
  • Respect: +1
« Reply #3 on: February 04, 2014, 06:35:02 pm »
Then there's also the changes studying Chinese for VCE which I heard scales down the students who have a background in Chinese which would put me at an disadvantage.
While I understand that ultimately, the decision is up to me, I would highly appreciate any help or insights you guys can give