Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 26, 2024, 10:40:50 am

Author Topic: [VCE English] - Language Analysis Feedback Please!  (Read 936 times)  Share 

ArtyDreams

• MOTM: Jan 20
  • Victorian Moderator
  • Forum Leader
  • Fly against the wind. Not with it.
  • Respect: +599
[VCE English] - Language Analysis Feedback Please!
« on: May 17, 2020, 09:28:29 pm »
+1
Hi everyone! I thought I'd attach a practise language analysis piece here - would really love some feedback! I'm not very good at LA, and would love some feedback, particularly on how effectively I've analysed certain language techniques. (As I feel like I'm repeating myself most of the time!)

Thank you! (I can't attach the article as it requires a Herald Sun subscription to access it. Hope its okay!)

Spoiler
To help prevent the spread of the Coronavirus, many parts of Australia were forced into lockdown. Victoria had the toughest restrictions in the entire country, prompting Susie Obrien to write the opinion article, titled ‘What about schools? Dan’s waited too long.’ (Herald Sun, published 12th May 2020) The author contends that the strict restrictions enforced by Daniel Andrews was ‘ridiculous,’ as it is causing Victoria to be at an economic crisis, which is hurting both businesses and individuals. With a blunt yet authoritative tone, O’Brien aims to sway Victoria’s public members into realising that Daniel Andrews is keeping restrictions tight to ‘suit his own purposes.’ In addition to this, Mark Knight’s cartoon also satirises the heavy restrictions enforced by the Government. His depiction of a range of vehicles stopped at a road supports the sentiment of the article, as Knight implies that although workers are gearing to go, they are being selfishly stopped by Andrews.