Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 26, 2024, 12:35:47 pm

Author Topic: How can I stop summarising and narrating?  (Read 3188 times)  Share 

Genshai

• Trailblazer
  • Respect: +11
How can I stop summarising and narrating?
« on: June 15, 2020, 02:09:42 pm »
Hey guys :)

I'm currently studying China and Russia in unit 3/4 revs. I'm good with the content, but I keep losing marks for summarising/narrating (ie, I'm not concise and don't 'analyse' enough). For example, in the ten-mark responses, I have no problem with understanding the content or the sources (like, I understand what they're asking) it's just that I don't know how to cut down my responses. This is my last hurdle... I'm average an B+/A in my practice questions, and this is the last step before consistently writing better responses.

Do you have any advice for writing a concise answer?

Thank you in advance !
2019: Biology [40]
2020: English [35], Methods [27], Art [36], Revs [38], Chem [29]

ATAR: 87.85

Amyy5412

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: +1
Re: How can I stop summarising and narrating?
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2020, 08:08:18 am »
+5
Hi Genshai,
Dont know if this helps, but I had a similar problem where my teacher was always telling me I added too much 'filler'.
A way she explained to structure my responses really helped.
And that was to make sure all my sentences were based around showing cause and effect, rather than just describing explaining events.
So, my writing had to be something like: '__ happened, which caused __ because of __.' as often as possible, which prevented me from going into detail explanations about the events themselves instead, which keep on diverting me. And then you'd back up that argument with a quote/date etc.
It may not work for you, but I just found that forcing as much of writing as possible to be about analysing connections rather than explaining helped me get better marks.
ATB :)
2018 - History: Renaissance