Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 22, 2024, 04:27:45 am

Author Topic: Nelson PE textbook 3/4: What is relevant and what should I neglect?  (Read 13626 times)  Share 

ilovepeandbio

My school uses the Nelson textbook and I'm studying for my first SAC which is coming up in 10 days. We are being tested on Chapters 1, 2 and 3. I've finished making summary notes for Chapter 1 and 2 so far however I went back through my notes and started to wonder whether some parts of the TB were relevant or not.

If anyone has this TB could you please tell me if...

• I need to be able to describe how certain measures of PA work? Do I really have to know that a pedometer is worn on the hip? Or is it more important to be aware of the advantages and disadvantages of each measure? Would that be enough for SACS and the exam?
  • the levels of evaluation are relevant? Do I need to know about formative, process, impact and outcome evaluation? (Page 6)
  • individual and environmental correlates are relevant to SACS and the exam? (Page 7) We never covered this in class so I am unsure)
  • I need to be able to remember the MET values for certain activities? (Page 11)
  • I need to know about SOPLAY, SOFIT and SOPARC? (Page 18-23)
  • I need to know about the Active Aus Survey, IPAQ and GPAQ? (page 14-15)
  • I have to familiarise myself with the social-ecological model used in the Trial of Activity for Adolesent Girls? (Page 66 - 67 and the first part of pg68)
    It seems like a big example but not essential knowledge to me.
  • Table 2.5 (PAge 53) is something essential to memorise or are they just examples? It is the suggested environmental and policy interventions for promoting PA.

I also purchased A+ PE notes written by the same authors.
Does this resource provide the base of what I would need to know for the exam or would I have to know all the additional theory covered in the Nelson textbook?