Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 03, 2024, 01:01:17 pm

Author Topic: Need help about Law!  (Read 1278 times)  Share 

dozamate

• Victorian
  • Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Need help about Law!
« on: December 23, 2012, 02:18:02 pm »
Hey guys,
Does anyone know what is the differences between commerce/law at monash as an undergraduate course, and commerce as undergraduate and then law postgraduate at melbourne uni. I got an atar of 98.25, does anyone have any advice on which path to take and which is better?

sluu001

• Victorian
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Respect: +28
  • School: University of Melbourne
Re: Need help about Law!
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2012, 02:29:12 pm »
If you want to practice as a lawyer, I suggest taking the LLB option at Monash. Melb JD is extremely tricky in terms of grades/marks needed for admission (LSAT, GPA, Personal Statement). If you are not sure if you really want to do law, or are only thinking of doing law due to the perceived prestige of the dicipline - then I suggest Melbourne's undergrad degree with breadths in Law subjects. Law is not everyone's cup of tea.

As for the reputation between the 2 degrees - not much difference except a JD has a better international reputation than a LLB (especially in North America where JDs are the only form of law degrees available). However, a law degree from Australia does not mean you can practice in other jurisdictions (countries); even with a Melb JD.

Planck's constant

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Respect: +52
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2012, 02:41:12 pm »