Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 06, 2024, 01:14:44 am

Author Topic: Should I do 4U/Extension 2 Maths???  (Read 2592 times)  Share 

sxiao

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Should I do 4U/Extension 2 Maths???
« on: October 07, 2018, 11:34:41 pm »
+1
Hello :)
I am currently a Year 11 student going into Year 12 and i’m struggling a lot to figure out which subjects to keep

I go to a decent (Top 10) selective school so the competition to get in MX2 was extremely high. Out of the 72 slots, I think I ranked around the middle as I ranked top 5 for Term 1, top 25 for Term 2
However, for preliminarys I really struggled with time management so I got average for both 2U and 3U - around 90% for 2U and 75% for 3U

Because of this, I’m really worried I won’t be able to cope with the workload of 4U maths because my experience from Prelims was that I had to sacrifice a lot of time from maths to focus on my other subjects. I currently do Extension maths and english, bio, modern and chem - bio and modern being my favorite subjects but also the most time consuming. My mentality was to drop X2 maths to focus on all my other subjects, but I did more research into scaling/ranking etc and found that it would be beneficial if I kept X2. I do enjoy maths, but largely because it was one of my better subjects, so I don’t know if i’ll thrive in an environment where the content gets so challenging and I don’t do well. My biggest problem is figuring out if it would be worth it to keep X2 even though I know i will be spending a lot of time on my other content heavy subjects.

Basically i’m very stressed and in a dilemma and any advice or help would be very very very appreciated :))
HSC 2019 — Extension Maths, Extension English, Chemistry, Biology, Modern History

fun_jirachi

• MOTM: AUG 18
  • Part of the furniture
  • All doom and Gloom.
  • Respect: +710
Re: Should I do 4U/Extension 2 Maths???
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2018, 07:12:01 am »
+8