Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 28, 2024, 09:24:19 pm

Author Topic: Resume: how to talk the talk?  (Read 4985 times)  Share 

Collin Li

• VCE Tutor
  • Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +17
Resume: how to talk the talk?
« on: January 03, 2008, 03:31:25 am »
I've been looking for scholarships I can apply for, and I've noticed that so many scholarships want you to display evidence of "leadership potential." I have never written a proper resume before, so I'm not very good at this. Can anyone help me thinking how I can market my leadership potential?

I have no professional work experience, or any previous serious captaincy (primary school and year 8 SRC don't count, I'm guessing). In years 7 & 8, I was part of a "Junior Technician" program at Brunswick Secondary College, where I would help out when IT failures occurred. I have done 20 hours of community service at a nursing home as well, and I have tutored for a year (2007).

Who can help me flesh out the leadership qualities in these past experiences? Also, please suggest anything I could do to improve my current portfolio before February (when applications open).

How much bullshit will they lap up? If I mention that I am going to summer school, could I manage to turn that into a story about a commitment to personal development, and an example of my keen approach to studies? This is where I need your help. How much can I crap on, and for those who have successfully fluffed up their resumes before, please show me your expert tips :)
« Last Edit: January 03, 2008, 03:38:39 am by coblin »

Eriny

• The lamp of enlightenment
  • Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Superstar
  • Respect: +100
Re: Resume: how to talk the talk?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 06:14:57 pm »