Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 27, 2024, 05:56:29 pm

Author Topic: Philosophy Tips?  (Read 7362 times)  Share 

Jiolo

• Adventurer
  • The world is yours <3
  • Respect: 0
Philosophy Tips?
« on: December 19, 2017, 12:48:28 am »
Hello fellow Philosphers, reaching out to anyone who enjoys or got a 40+ study score for philosophy,

Main Philosophy concepts to focus on for exam?

Tips on for whats to come in units 3 & 4?

Is it possible to get a 50 even if this subject gets scaled down?

Any other philosophy students who have questions feel free to post them here  :P
ENGLISH [?] MATHEMATICAL METHODS [?] BIOLOGY [?] PHILOSOPHY [?] PSYCHOLOGY [?] REVOLUTIONS [31]

Coffee

• Forum Leader
  • Respect: +322
Re: Philosophy Tips?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2017, 07:37:30 am »
+5
Hi Jiolo,

I did Philosophy last year and I’m also studying it at University.

Main Philosophy concepts to focus on for exam?
Unfortunately, anything can really pop up on the exam. My best advice is to cover any philosophical concepts that come up, and make sure you have a solid understanding of which philosophers think what. Comparing the views of philosophers aren’t all that uncommon, in fact, you’ll probably be doing it quite a bit.

Tips on for whats to come in units 3 & 4?
There’s quite a few topics and philosophers to get through so, it’s best to be on top of things from day one.

Reading the texts can be quite challenging, especially Aristotle, Descartes, and Locke. Modern philosophers, like Armstrong and Singer you will find much easier. I have two pieces of advice on texts:
1. Don’t be disheartened if you don’t understand them on the first read. You will probably need to read them again, and again. I still do this sometimes, but it does get a lot easier. They won't always be so difficult.