Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 28, 2024, 05:51:30 pm

Author Topic: Need help with choosing my yr11 subject asap!!  (Read 817 times)

kev03

• Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
Need help with choosing my yr11 subject asap!!
« on: July 29, 2019, 06:53:55 pm »
Hi, I'm an yr10 student and I'm stressing out with choosing my vce subjects. I'm an immigrant student who came to Australia 2 yrs ago from South Korea and struggling to understand how this 'vce' thing works. I'm sorry if my English is horrible.
I'm planning to head uni and do IT major. (Software or Security)

My current list
English 1&2
Maths Methods 1&2
Further Maths 3&4
VCE Computing 1&2
Studio Art (Maybe) (I really love doing art and enjoy it but my parents aren't happy about it. 1. it affects my atar 2. they think it is bad as it is totally irrelevant to IT or maths or science)
??? (Empty subject)

Subjects I'm thinking of
Physics - science stuff that my parents would love me to do
Chemistry - another science stuff that my parents would love me to do
History (Ancient or 20th) - I have some interest in history. I did get good marks in humanities and I think I'll do okay.
Systems Engineering - this is a new thing that is starting next year at our school and I'm quiet not sure about this. But I really like making things.

1.What should I do for my 6th subject?

2. Is there any other subjects that will help me studying IT? I heard physics might get useful but I really don't like science stuff. I get decent marks though.

3. Will having studio art or any subjects that is irrelevant to my major affect me going to uni? My parents are really concerned about this.

4. Can I change my subject??? School has been scaring me by telling me it's my life choice. Can I skip unit 1&2 and still do unit 3&4 for that subject in yr 12?
« Last Edit: July 29, 2019, 08:08:50 pm by kev03 »

sara.vce

• Trailblazer
  • Respect: +4
Re: Need help with choosing my yr11 subject asap!!