Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 28, 2024, 05:14:35 pm

Author Topic: Trump and Tarrifs  (Read 1092 times)  Share 

• Trailblazer
  • Respect: 0
Trump and Tarrifs
« on: March 04, 2018, 02:06:42 pm »
+1
Hi fellow Economists!
USA introduced 25% tariffs on imported steel and aluminium.
What are your thoughts on the economic impacts?
Here is a website if you want to know more: http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2018-03-02/donald-trump-tariffs-not-great-for-australia-but-terrible-for-us/9502118
I'm new to economics, so it would be really awesome if some of you guys could offer your perspectives on how this decision will impact the economies of the nations involved.
Thanks!

katgrace1

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Re: Trump and Tarrifs
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2018, 09:39:52 pm »
+2
Hi fellow Economists!
USA introduced 25% tariffs on imported steel and aluminium.
What are your thoughts on the economic impacts?
Here is a website if you want to know more: http://mobile.abc.net.au/news/2018-03-02/donald-trump-tariffs-not-great-for-australia-but-terrible-for-us/9502118
I'm new to economics, so it would be really awesome if some of you guys could offer your perspectives on how this decision will impact the economies of the nations involved.
Thanks!

Currently, the US and AUS are doing a deal to exclude Australia from the brunt of the tariffs. This will help ensure free trade between the two countries. From an economist's perspective, free trade is the way to go as it ensures scare resources are used effectively and efficiently. With the proposed tariffs countries and groups like the EU are already preparing to resort to retaliation by increasing tariffs on their goods. Through the proposed tariffs it will likely increase protectionism and potentially could undermine the efforts of organisations such as the WTO which aim to promote free trade. However, at the moment it is only 'proposed' and we will have to wait to see if it goes through.

JTrudeau