Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

April 27, 2024, 06:49:39 pm

Author Topic: Year 10 Essay  (Read 5489 times)

HansFlemmenwerfer

• Adventurer
  • Respect: 0
Year 10 Essay
« on: June 10, 2017, 11:29:53 pm »
+1
Hey there,

This is my first time posting (recent year 11 student), and curious about how I compare. Currently I am rank 1 in my school (which averages very poorly in English) so I feel like I'm the big fish in the small pond. I won't say my mark to avoid either harsh criticism or biased leniency, but I done relatively well.

I understand most don't read 800 word, dry text responses; a quick skim is what I expect. If you could, give me a rough estimate of where this ranks.
Spoiler
Macbeth is a character of conscience, but his ambition is a fatal flaw. Discuss.

Macbeth is a ‘worthy gentleman,’ a ‘peerless kinsman,’ and also an ambitious thane, whose desire for greatness blinds and dooms him. Macbeth’s gullibility gave leverage to the witches over Macbeth, who cheated him with their incomprehensible twist of reality. In spite of dealing with a devil, Macbeth’s consciousness is only slightly scathed. His wife, who betrays her place in society, continuously probe’s Macbeth and shines light on his ‘black and deep desires’; as well as his supposed lack of masculinity. Ambition, along with the aforementioned, trigger Macbeth’s lust for power, and diminish his consciousness as an effort to please his lady and calm his greed.