Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 21, 2024, 06:51:41 pm

Author Topic: Secondary school teaching- prerequisites.  (Read 989 times)  Share 

hannahroseillia

• Victorian
  • Trailblazer
  • Respect: 0
Secondary school teaching- prerequisites.
« on: July 15, 2014, 04:18:41 pm »
Hello everyone,
I am a year 11 student studying to become a secondary school teacher majoring in English. I have been told that I only need units 1/2 of General Mathematics to be able to become a teacher.
However the careers advisors at my school have now said that we need Units 3/4 as well.
Is anyone able to confirm this? And if not can I still be a teacher if I don't have my Units 3/4.
I'm really terrible at maths and don't want to keep going with it.

Aaron

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +1536
Re: Secondary school teaching- prerequisites.
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2014, 04:41:41 pm »
+3
Hi,

There are ways of doing this at a postgraduate level without mathematics, however for the Bachelor of Teaching i'm afraid that it may be something you'll need to do, depending on the university you select.

There is however hope! La Trobe offers the Bachelor of Teaching (link: here) that the pre-requisites state:

VCE Units 3 and 4: study score of at least 30 in English (EAL) or 25 in any other English. VCE Units 1 and 2: two units General Mathematics or Mathematical Methods, or VCE Units 3 and 4 Mathematics (any).

Judging by the above, you'd only need English 3+4, and General 1+2.

If you did decide to do a postgraduate teaching course, you would do a Bachelor's degree in say, Arts, then be admitted into a Master's or GradDip (which I am pretty sure is ending soon).. The only pre-requisites for Master's degrees in Teaching is a undergraduate degree and at least a sub-major in English Studies.

I cannot really comment on other universities, but from La Trobe's pre-requisite description on their site, you may be able to avoid 3+4 maths! All the best.