Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

May 29, 2024, 12:27:05 pm

Author Topic: MBBS or MD  (Read 1080 times)  Share 

whitneyzhao77

• New South Welsh
  • Fresh Poster
  • Respect: 0
  • School: Pymble Ladies College
MBBS or MD
« on: February 10, 2014, 10:18:36 pm »

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting threads, sorry if I pose it in the wrong place.

I am struggling in choosing between MBBS and MD. Not that I am accepted by both, in fact, I haven't even done my HSC yet. I think a lot of people will tell me to go for the one that accepts me, and apparently most people think MBBS is better than MD, since basically they are the same, while MBBS takes a shorter time to complete.

My concern is that, I am interested in a lot of fields and am not 100% if I do want to be a doctor for the rest of my life. I want to explore as many fields as possible in uni and I am afraid that doing MBBS won't give me enough time or freedom to do that since it is very much packed and intense. That is the main reason why I want to do a MD program.

However, I read some of the posts in the forum and found out that it takes a long time for a medical school student to finish his/her training, so I am wondering if I should do MBBS to shorten this long and exhausting process.

Any advice would be good, thanks in advance!

Stick

• Victorian
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Sticky. :P
  • Respect: +467
Re: MBBS or MD
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2014, 10:30:23 pm »
Please read this recent thread in particular: Undergad vs Grad Medicine?

I think you are really mature to allow yourself to consider both options here; most people who are absolutely sure about medicine will try to jump into the undergraduate pathway, perhaps without thinking what the graduate pathway would entail. :)