Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

June 16, 2024, 05:49:46 pm

Author Topic: "I'm not an [insert school subject here] kind of person"  (Read 570 times)  Share 

JR_StudyEd

• MOTM: MAY 19
  • Forum Obsessive
  • Mental health is #1
  • Respect: +171
"I'm not an [insert school subject here] kind of person"
« on: May 11, 2019, 08:07:25 am »
+1
I hear this so many times, it's not even funny. It deserves its own topic for discussion.

How many times have you heard this from peers over the years? Why do you think people view certain subjects in this way? What tips and advice would you give to someone who is really struggling in a particular subject and uses this as an excuse as a kind of way out and not to try their hardest in a subject?

Looking at my subjects, you would think that I am really STEM-oriented, but personally I feel I am more inclined towards the humanities (hence why I studied Psych and chose Geography, but the class didn't run due to lack of numbers :() I should not be in Bio, but that's how it turned out.

I've personally been told that I'm "generalising" my weakness. What I mean by that is, just because I struggle in Circular Functions, my brain kind of extends this to mean "Because I struggle in one significant topic, I struggle with the entire Methods course". I suppose mindset is everything, but it's kind of difficult to counteract this mindset since the subject is so demanding and doesn't offer you much solace.
Listens to K-Pop (Twice, Red Velvet, MAMAMOO) and Christmas music all year round.

brothanathan

Re: "I'm not an [insert school subject here] kind of person"
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2019, 09:05:51 am »
I hear this so many times, it's not even funny. It deserves its own topic for discussion.