Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

June 04, 2024, 07:49:38 pm

Author Topic: UMAT tips and advice  (Read 2028 times)  Share 

Janna

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +16
UMAT tips and advice
« on: June 24, 2017, 12:57:12 pm »
+11
Hey everyone,

I'm a current first year undergraduate medicine student at Monash University and so I've had heaps of people asking me for tips and advice on UMAT. So, I thought I'd make a post offering what I learnt from my experiences with UMAT and hopefully some other people can post some of their tips aswell:

1. Start early - although its not the end of the world if you didn't start early (I started with literally a month to go and I survived...although barely) it definitely helps if you started early. Year 12 is stressful enough without the extra work and pressure of UMAT
2. Work on your weaknesses - UMAT is supposed to be all about your natural ability and your not supposed to be able to study for it and although that's so not true and you can definitely study there are definitely some sections that are easier to study for then others. If your naturally fairly good at logical reasoning or understanding people sections then there's only really so much your going to improve from doing a tonne of questions
3. non verbal reasoning YOU CAN STUDY FOR. In my practices for this section I went from about the 30th percentile to the 80th percentile just from using tutorials. Yes you can do question after questions and try to figure out your own techniques but do your self a favour and memorize other peoples techniques - especially mapping techniques and things like that (although UMAT is trying to phase them out because people are realising that its easy to study for them)