Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

June 22, 2024, 06:02:34 am

Author Topic: I'm not stupid  (Read 3021 times)  Share 

visiblegirl

• Adventurer
  • Respect: +4
I'm not stupid
« on: May 21, 2018, 10:56:09 am »
+4
Hi all, I know this is going to sound utterly up myself so here’s your warning. Click off now if you’re bothered by the refuting of grades based on the self-interpretation of one’s own intelligence. (Case in point: that sentence.)

Basically my ATAR is going to make me seem utterly incompetent. I’m Year 11 so my grades aren’t that important right now but I may not even get the S in my subjects that I need. I’m not taking a maths or science - I am currently studying: Legal, Media, English, Literature, an Philosophy. I enjoy these subjects for the most part and I dropped down from 6 because Just Depression and Anxiety Things. My school is incredible with supporting me, they have allowed special considerations based on my physiatrist’s advice, ensured me all they expect is for me to pass, provided a system for my panic attacks, and just generally been wonderful. My parent’s don’t put pressure on me. The main problem is the pressure I put on myself.

Last year I was a straight A+ student in English and often received perfect marks. This year it is up and down - my grades are starting to replicate my mood disorder. (Bit of mental health humour.) My highest mark in English so far this year was 39 out of 40 but that’s surrounded by a sea of Cs and Bs. Maybe this distressing me so much because the subject used to wield easily achieved high marks but every subject is like this. Literature is Ds and Cs. Legal is abysmal. Media is alright. Philosophy is my favourite subject even if I’m awful at it: the class discussion (there are only 5 of us) is a good trade off for the terrible grades.