Login

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

June 05, 2024, 04:28:13 pm

Author Topic: Need help developing a program  (Read 2472 times)  Share 

aiming_95

Need help developing a program
« on: February 06, 2012, 10:41:34 pm »
So guys I'm a real newbie when it comes to gym and working out, and I need help developing a program.

Today was my first day at the gym and I didn't know what the hell to do, I just literally jumping from machine to machine.

So what do I need to learn ? how many body parts do I work out a day ? when I work out on a body part how many reps and sets do I need to do ?

Oh yeh, and my aims are to lose 4-5 kilos and 'ripped' or lean.

taiga

• Honorary Moderator
  • ATAR Notes Legend
  • Respect: +588
Re: Need help developing a program
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2012, 02:29:22 am »
Before anyone helps you with any of that, what are you eating?
vce: english, methods, spesh, chemistry, physics, geography.

ex admin/mod/partner

2010: Melbourne High School (VCE)
2011 - 2016: Monash University BComm/BEng (Hons)

If you guys have any concerns/suggestions for making ATARNotes a better place, don't hesitate to PM me.

aiming_95

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2012, 11:10:54 am »
Not really sticking to a diet, just trying to avoid eating junk more than anything.

kensan

• Victorian
  • Forum Leader
  • Do you even lift?
  • Respect: +20
  • School: L.C.
  • School Grad Year: 2012
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2012, 05:06:20 pm »
+1
Way too much to explain in one post, there is so much knowledge to know about.
Maybe ask someone working at the gym to help you around for the first few weeks, to show you how to do exercises properly and that. If you don't know what you are doing you could easily injure yourself.
Basically compound exercises need to find their way into your program.
These are
-Bench press
-Pull ups
-Shoulder press
-Dead-lifts
-Squats